Tags

, , ,



Koi, originally uploaded by Skink74.

I’ve been going back over some old folders looking for interesting shots that I overlooked in the past and I found some colour pinhole frames that I quite like. This one I think I left alone previously because it’s very dark. In retrospect the exposure here should have been more like thirty seconds than eight, to allow for how dark it was in the foreground, and some reciprocity failure. But the danger there would be that the colour would shift unacceptably, and that the reflected sky would swamp the blurred fish.
Aside from the darkness, this shot exemplifies what pinhole photography is about for me; the overall, but constant, low fidelity combined with long exposures that smear moments together. The overall effect is difficult to replicate any other way.

