Tags

, , ,

composure

I’ve written about the Blue, and the Chocolate Polaroid 100 film, so it’s about time I wrote up the last of the three varieties – Sepia. Unlike the other two, which are rated at ISO 80, the Sepia version is ISO 1500 which made shooting it with the Super Colour Swinger III a bit more awkward, since its two settings are 75 and 3000. In particular since I wanted to shoot at full aperture if possible – meaning the 75 ISO setting on the camera – I had a 4-and-a-bit stop gap to bridge. As with the Fuji FP-3000b that I first tested the camera with I turned to some ND filters combining a couple of gels from my Lee Filters sample set, to make an ND4 filter I could tape over the lens.

That aside there’s not much to say about the shooting – it behaves exactly like every other pack film – shoot, pull, wait, peel. I had some trouble, visible in the corners of the photos here, because I changed packs while out in the wild, and so didn’t have a chance to properly clean the rollers and some accumulated gunge was preventing an even spread of the precious magic goo right into the corners of the frame.

Dockens Water sepia

So how does it look? Well, I really like the results, although the sepia toning is very slight, and seems variable throughout each print. I wonder if this is down to the fairly low temperature the pack was shot at (mostly below ~15C) and maybe its age, preventing the full tone coming out. Nevertheless it’s a very pleasing overall tone, and I think suits my typical subjects quite well.

Like the Chocolate film, I initially only bought a single pack for testing, but I’ve since bought some more, and I think it will work really well in the pinhole conversion of my second SCS3.

